Bits of a Road Trip.

Men fight but make up quickly.

I had a good journey – from Abuja to Okene. Although the music was too loud and everyone was quiet or sleeping (I think) because I slept most of the way too. After we stopped for a bit at Okene and continued, one of the passengers had a fight with the driver. The passenger complained about the rudeness of the driver and that the driver’s disrespect for his age. They threw words at each other like “stop the car let’s fight” and “shey you said you would leave the car and charter another, what’s stopping you?’ and other variations.

The other passengers tried to soothe the passenger and from there it led to politics, God, Nigerians living in other countries, and everyone sharing their perspectives. Everyone wanted the other to hear what they had to say. the driver wasn’t interested and increased the volume of the CD playing.

I happened to be the only female among six other passengers including the driver. I had a conversation with the guy who sat next to me – young, early thirties. He’s been married for a year or so. He has a child. He was surprised that I could say my rosary in the car. He said that it made him ashamed. He talked about his wife and kid a little and how he met her. He told me about how he once had God in the center but that has changed. He could not explain what changed. He told me that it was the best part of his life but he doesn’t know how come he can’t go back there. After sharing a bit of this and that, he said that my parents did well in the way I was brought up.

I talked really little and liked to listen.

Erm, do I look that young??? He guessed that I was either in school or serving. Of course I couldn’t be married, I had no ring on it. They just looked at me as a young girl. Child. Something sha. Lol.

When the man started getting comfortable, I started looking for the next exit to end the conversation and go back to reading Americanah. As soon as he got a call I went back to my book and he didn’t bother me again. I saw parts of me in some parts of the book – the way I must have acted consciously or unconsciously both past and present. It was like someone had described some parts of you in a certain way before but argued that it was a a false description, then you’re given this novel to read and see for yourself.

We had a flat tyre somewhere.

I noticed that the married men, at least the young ones liked to say ‘my wife’. I liked that it wasn’t said like they had just made a new acquisition, rather it was said with happiness and  warmth – someone they love and look forward to seeing or talking. Lool! Don’t ask me how I know. I just feel these things. I hope you get.

Then there was the former-mad passenger who told us that he doesn’t go to any church in Nigeria. He agreed that God is everywhere but not in any Nigerian church and mosque – his words. The other passengers wanted him to share his ideology. (Dear readers, I’ll like to hear your thoughts about this). He was asked and he told them that he stays at home on Sundays but he has told his wife and children can go to any church if they want to (I was appalled). I just stopped listening to anything he had to say and focused on my book.

At this time, Former-mad passenger and driver were talking and laughing. The music was increased to an obscene volume but no one complained. It gave me a headache but everyone seemed not bothered. They were either fiddling with their phones or having conversations in monotones. So I read Americanah all the way.

The end. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Bits of a Road Trip.

  1. Love this!
    Public transport over long trips in naija is so much fun! The stories, the conversations…love it!
    PS: For whatever reason, while I was reading this, I had a sense that you had read or were reading Americannah.

    I wonder if things read could influence one’s writing style

    1. lol!
      I don’t like the conversations on public transport though. Most of them anyway. I would rather listen to the conversations than sharing my thoughts on any topic.
      And I agree. The things you read influence your writing style. I’ve read somewhere that some books(which also can be anything you read), may make you want to write.
      I’ve written a few short pieces after reading Americanah, both the ones i want to share and not.

      thanks for stopping by.

  2. To an extent i share d angry passenger’s view about God not been in any church or mosques in this country. I don’t think he out rightly meant to say God has abandoned us to our ways but he feels with what u see around u, u can’t say God is involve in the level of decadence n corrupt ways we as a society have degenerated into. We talk of God and salvation with no meaning. Sunday service is more or less a ritual where we go show our new dress or shoes or go meet the cream de la cream of the society and flaunt our new acquisition. I fear many will think one is an anti christ to hold this line of thought but let us call a spade a spade and just maybe we will find that we have more of a religious Nigeria that has nothing Godly in it.

    1. i do not totally agree to your comment as i would like to hear from other readers. We ought to remember that we should not go to church because of the other person or to see what the other person would wear,etc. I think it’s all about worship. We should be going to church with the mindset that we going to worship God. At the end we are all humans and God is our Creator and Judge of all.

      thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

